Wednesday, 7 February 2018

The Fendermen - 1974 - Dorset Gardens Presents The Fenderman FLAC

The Impossible Dream/They Call The Wind Maria/Hello Josephine/Little Deuce Coup/Mexico

Melbourne band formed in 1962. Members have included Frankie Brent (guitar, vocals), Frankie Burns (drums), John Cosgrove (guitar, vocals), Gavin Grace (bass), Ray Houston (bass), Graham Broomfield (saxophone), Rex Harris (bass), Gordon Pendleton (drums), and Noel Tresider (piano).

In 1961 John Cosgrove saw a Fender Guitar in a Melbourne shop window and Knew instantly that this was the instrument on which to build his musical career.

John with Bassist Ray Houston and Guitarist Frank Brent , left the Blue Jays Show Band and formed the first all-Fender group in Melbourne. When drummer Frank Burns joined up,the four young musicians,together with the full support of the Fender Company in the U.S.A. became the legendary Fendermen.
The Fendermen's blend of professional arrangements and quality equipment launched them to the forefront of the local pop music scene, securing long term contracts with Leggets Paladium and the Orana Ballroom, and the late night spot at the Palais De Danse. Regular appearances on IMT with Graham Kennedy and recordings with Frankie Davidson and Merv Benton followed.

1968 saw the Fendermen move to a long running residency at the Dorset Gardens working with and supporting a long list of international acts. Now working as a duo, the Fendermen have never stopped playing. In 1996 the original members reunited for their 35th Anniversary then in 2011 for their 50th.

                                                       The Fendermen's Fenders.

Thanks To John

No comments:

Post a Comment